(You) Make the Road by Walking

Menahan Street Band “Make the Road by Walking”

When this song was first introduced to me months ago, I knew I was going to use it.  Besides the fact that Jay-Z sampled this gem and it’s a great song, what’s even greater about this is the title.  It says everything in five words.  The song is an instrumental.  Take a listen to it.   I think of Afrobeat and blaxploitation films and afros and all the good times of the 70s  I was too young to capture.  The funny thing though, is the song was recently made.  In the last five years if I’m not mistaken.  But, that’s just a little history.

Make the Road by Walking

It means I’m on this path and the road doesn’t appear until I start walking – until I step out. It’s like the bricks, the paved road or the dirt road appears before me as I TAKE each step.  In fact, it’s like sometimes I don’t even see the road.  Can’t see the road, I can’t see ahead.  Like a foggy, rainy night.  I just have to trust there’s a road underneath me and walk (or drive) slow.  It’s a scary idea.  But truthfully, I’m mostly doing that each day right?  Although I can control my own actions,  I never have control of the factors outside of myself where it involves another living creature, the weather and elements.  There’s a lot of uncertainty out here.

Have you seen Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade?

In the movie, Indiana Jones faces three tests in order to reach the Holy Grail.  If you know anything about the Indiana Jones series, of course the tests seem damn near impossible.  At the same time he’s about to go through these three challenges, his father (Sean Connery) has been shot and is dying.  So, no pressure right?  Right.  On the third and final challenge, Jones arrives at this cavern and needs to get to the other side.  However, there’s this big void.  You know – it’s like looking across a canyon and someone telling you that you need to cross it.  But there’s no bridge.  Jones has his father’s diary and following the instructions he steps out on faith, sticks hit foot into the void.  In other words, it looks just like he’s stepping into nothingness.   And then lo and behold there’s an invisible bridge!!!  Damn.  So Jones is smart – he throws dirt across the bridge to make sure he can see the way and steps on across.  Pretty amazing.

Cue soundtrack to my life.

Invisible bridges, canyons & voids, dirt and swashbuckling!

It speaks to faith right?  Faith in God, faith in my own ability.  Faith enough to really step out and make my road or at least trust there is a road.
I only do that by walking.  No one can walk the road for me.

How many times will I have to step out into the metaphorical void and not have a clue as to what’s about to happen?  From living these three decades and change, I can say there have been many times. From moving, to changing careers, to dating, to loving, to starting a business or pursuing a hobby that’s been a dream.  Each time has been scarier.

I’ve also come to accept God isn’t planning to bless me within my comfort zone.

It means I am going to have to take some sensible risk.  Everything that has a major blessing to it is something I wouldn’t be able to handle on my own without the help of God or those God-given talents He’s given me or the people I have been blessed with in my life.

Now of course I could just sit at home and live my life “safely.”  And frankly, some days that’s exactly what I want to do.   Be content with whatever I have.  Accept this is where I am in life. Because it is comfortable.  It’s safe.

But what if I’m not?  What if I believe there’s more out there and all I need to do is get across this void?  Then I am going to have to make the road by walking and step out in faith.

Anyway, life is about a lot of uncertainty.  I can say that for sure.  Over the last 12 years, I have learned to relax and believe things are going to have to work out.  I have purpose.  There is a plan for my life.  There is promise.  I had to become comfortable walking my own road and with my own path because it’s not like anyone else’s – if only for the fact that there are invisible bridges, canyons & voids, dirt and swashbuckling.

Know there is always risk by walking our own roads.  But no risk equals no reward right?

Make your road.

Walk it out.

Love,

Rae

4 thoughts on “(You) Make the Road by Walking

  1. So true, so absolutely terrifying.

    To walk away from a good job in this economy on nothing but faith and a lead… all to get back to my purpose and back into the arms of those who love me is so.completely.terrifying. but oh so very necessary!

    • Right and I applaud you for it!! You definitely have a clear and defined purpose which is a good one! Have you decided which option you were planning to pursue? Still the advanced degree?

  2. I absoulutely love your blog. I am going through a situation that is going to require faith or making my own road. It’s called leaving my relationship. I know he is not the person for me. However, I love him and it hurts to let him go fully. I feel like this relationship has me in a mental and emotional choke hold. I know I am going to have to cut all contact, let my heart ache and then heal. It’s just hard to begin to walk the walk.

    • Oh Blu thank you so much!!! I’m really glad you found your way here and took the time to comment. You know, I am sure this is a hard time for you but you’ll make it through it. I really believe if you’re feeling that bound up, well, you have to make the decisions that are best for you. It is extremely hard to begin the walk. But, remember how Forest Gump did in that scene when they started to chase him? Yep – I think of myself. I got my Jennie in the background yelling at me – run, Forest, run! And as soon as you take off the chains break free. LOL…. but for real, I am sure things will work out one way or another. You seem aware and that’s a first step. xoxoxox

Thoughts?

