If You Don’t Like My Peaches Why Do You Shake My Tree?

My name is Blossom
I was raised in a lions den
My name is Blossom
I was raised in a lions den
My nightly occupation
Stealing other womens men
I’m an evil evil woman
But I want to do a man some good
I’m an evil evil woman
But I want to do a man some good
I’m Gina Lola Bridgietta
I ain’t red riding hood
If you don’t like my peaches, baby, why do you shake my tree?
If you don’t like my peaches, baby, why do you shake my tree?
Get out of my orchid, baby
Let my peach tree be
Now don’t you ooh skoodla doo skoodli dee
And I won’t ya ya doo doo
If you don’t ooh skookdla doo
Then I won’t ya ya doo doo
So don’t you ooh skoodla doo skoodli dee
And I won’t ya ya doo doo
Some men like me cause I’m happy
Some think I’m snappy
Some call me honey
And some think I’ve got
But Grey Brown told me that I was built for speed
You put them all together
Everything a good man needs
You put them all together
Everything a good man needs

— Blossom’s Blues

Listen to the song here:

The titles says it all.  Do you understand what it really means?

In my version, it asks what does it mean to really have someone who’s interested in you?  Or not.  I mean, in other words….

If you’re not interested, why are you steaming up my tail???

It may be Blossom’s Blues, but damn if I don’t know what the hell she’s talking about.

Ever been with someone who is hot one day and cold the next?  I can’t.  I think I used to be able to tolerate it, but at this point in the game, I can’t handle it any more.  So, if you’re shaking my tree, you better be loving these peaches.

Was just listening to this song the other day coming home thinking about all of the places and stages of being I’ve been in with relationships.  You’re into him, he’s not into you.  He’s into you, you’re not into him. The two of you are just friends with benefits.  You are getting benefits, he’s getting none.  He’s getting benefits…you’re getting few.  Y’all bye.  I can’t!!!!  Does anyone feel me?

I think about this time last year and I was in a totally different dynamic than I am now.  In fact, I feel bad for that position that I was in at the time.  It wasn’t something I would take on now.  I should have been in a very different position altogether.  While I wouldn’t do it again, I am thankful for the lessons it taught me because it launched me on to other lessons that needed to be learned during 2011 so I could move on to the goodness of 2012.  And trust me — 2012 is shaping up to be beautiful.  I am thankful for all of God’s blessings.

Funny how God allows you to go through certain things, plow through the fields and the layers in order to get to your best self, your best life, your best “crop” so to speak.

I say all that to say, I’m working on a balance as we speak.   Accepting grace.  Putting it all together.  Preserving my peaches.  No more tree shaking for me.

Where are you in this year?  Allowing people to shake your tree? Collecting and preserving your own peaches?  I mean, tell me…how are you?

6 thoughts on “If You Don’t Like My Peaches Why Do You Shake My Tree?

  1. In my case, my two year relationship was not bearing any fruit. I’ve known this for awhile and still continued to give the benefit of the doubt to a person who didn’t deserve it. I’ve started my year off letting the rotten things go, walking in forgiveness and moving forward. My goal is to abide in the peace and favor of God and have the best year of my life thus far. Preserving my peaches!

    • Yes!!!! I can’t tell you how much time I spent in those relationships that didn’t bear fruit. I believed I learned lessons and maybe that was the fruit? But I took the same lesson over a bunch of times!! LOL… And two snaps for preserving your peaches!!!!

    • Yessss!!! Thank you so much honey! I feel you!! I really have made every effort to start it out right. In love, forgiveness and the spirit of progress.

Thoughts?

