My Guest Post “On Being Open”

Hey Loves!

How are you?  I recently wrote a guest post for the Up 4 Discussion website which is celebrating women this month!!!  You know I have to support when it comes to celebrating us! There are so many awesome posts over there, so be sure to check them out.  I have a few great posts in the works and will be posting those before the close of the week.

Check out an excerpt from my post below and be sure to visit Up 4 Discussion to continue reading.

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” ~  Anaïs Nin

Being more fluid, more open, to the ebbs and flows of life is the key to having the fullest life possible.  Having a stiff neck skews our perspective.  I’m worried about us as women many days and this includes me.  For every one of us open to new experiences, new people, new food, new jobs, new relationships, there are many terrified to make a move.  Have you ever been so scared you’re literally petrified?  Frozen in time?  Cannot even think of moving – anything in any way.  I’ve been there.  Some days I still find myself in that place.  We. Need. To. Stop. It.

We cannot grow or progress when we’re not open.   

I want us to be able to see God’s plan as He reveals it.  Just because God gives us an assignment doesn’t mean He won’t add on to it in the middle.  Change baby.  You ask for increase?  He can provide it any way He sees fit. 

All roads aren’t straight.  They are often set with curves, detours, winding and sometimes treacherous stretches.  Along the way there is beautiful scenery, straight stretches, rest stops, funky stores to waste your money at, great restaurants and opportunity – and each other and our relationship with God. 

I believe this is one of those areas where we as women have to grow and evolve.  It’s why most of us are always stressed out!!! Many of us are perfectionists.

Click here to continue reading….

6 thoughts on “My Guest Post “On Being Open”

  1. Hi Rae,

    I just came by to check out your blog, and I love your newest post. So many insights! I especially love this: “All roads aren’t straight. They are often set with curves, detours, winding and sometimes treacherous stretches. Along the way there is beautiful scenery, straight stretches, rest stops, funky stores to waste your money at, great restaurants and opportunity.” I have certainly had my own struggle with perfectionism, but I’ve found many things similar to what you have listed in your post can help us loosen the grip. A big one for me has been revising my expectations of others–realizing that not everyone will treat you as well as you treat them. And that it’s okay. Keep treating people well anyway. Also love your suggestions to try new foods and accept invitations from your friends. It’s the little things that open us up to the world. Great post! Thanks!

    • Hi Rian! Thank you so much for stopping by the blog and taking the time to check it out! Very glad you liked the post! I am sure you have been VERY busy after being ‘Freshly Pressed’ so the fact that you took time out means a lot.

      You really hit the nail on the head about expectations. I have been working on it for years. I often find myself disappointed just because people aren’t as invested as I am. It happens, and well, I’ve decided to chalk it up to a reasonable service fee for living a blessed and enchanted life.

      Thank you again for stopping by! I’m excited to read more of your coming posts in the future!!

  2. It is so fitting that “From Rae with Love” is the name of toir blog. You have a way of giving us the “medicine” we need w/a lil bit of sugar so it goes down easier! I wish I could rewind my life 1-2 years and read this, but in a way learning these lessons the hard way were good learning experiences. Reading your post only confirm for me that the changes I have made are good ones! Please keep up the good work and THANK YOU for being open with the world!

    • Thank you love!! I always appreciate your support. Thank you so much for the kind words and taking the time to read what I’m posting!!! And Lord knows, I wish I would have been more open to the RIGHT things years ago. At any rate, I done paid for and bought my knowledge. Might as well blow the lid off of it you know? Pay it forward. Make it work for me and everyone around me. So glad it could act as a confirmation!!! That’s what it’s about for me!

  3. such a wonderful wonderful post Rae! I have been fearing recently that God’s plans for me are definitely not what I thought I wanted. At some point, I need to stop resisting and start trusting. Ready or not, things will probably start unfolding and I need to jump on board regardless. Thank you for your words of inspiration!

    • Girl!!! I think for a long time I was pretty much in the same rut as well. I have gotten to the point where if that’s what God wants, then He shall have his way. You inspire me all the time ETK! So glad I get to see you and that you’re my friend!!1 (And glad God stuck you here with me).

Thoughts?

