30 in 30 + Write Like Crazy = Success

I was on twitter tonight reading through the author Aliya S. King’s twitter chat and she mentioned a challenge one of her friends is beginning for the month of August which is “30 in 30.” You can check a transcript of the twitter chat here which Adelle Platon was kind enough to put together.
On top of that, Tayari Jones is beginning a ‘Write Like Crazy’ month which you can check out here.

So yup, you guessed it.  I am going to ‘write like crazy’ this month and post 30 blog posts in 30 days.

*cue sentence enhancers and a ‘web of obscenities’ like the one Ralphie’s Dad weaves over Indiana in A Christmas Story.

Alas, it’s really about me getting myself in gear.  I have talked about publishing.  About writing.  About writing and publishing a book.  There’s no book.  Yet.

Actually there is, but it has yet to be in real time where you can read it and I can share it.

This next 30 days is for me.  It’ll be my version of prayer and fasting for my writing career.  A way to say I believe in the talent that’s here and I am willing to sacrifice to make sure my dreams come true.

In my mind it means I need to focus.  I need to pull all the stops out and get it together – in a loving sense of course.  It means I need to stop watching all these shows ‘On Demand’ for a month and focus on what’s important to me. It means I may actually have to get up at the crack of dawn and write and stay up after work and jot notes down on my iphone.  It means I need to journal as well.

***note to self, watching Dallas while writing this post isn’t helping productivity

I’m really looking forward to the challenge! I’m looking forward to hearing from all of you.  I’m thinking I may post some creative non-fiction, some standard blog posts and a few short stories and vignettes during the month.

Pray for me!
Love,

Rae

10 thoughts on “30 in 30 + Write Like Crazy = Success

  1. Hey Rae! I’m in!! I know I’m starting late but that just means I have to work a little harder to catch up but I’m going to start this evening. 21 days creates a habit. Send me your email address as I would love to share with you!
    Lisa 🙂

    • Girl!! This is going to be interesting! And amazing! I’m excited about it!! Def going to be challenging. But I am looking forward to the writing and the community that comes out of it!! I need to work on my post for today. And then I need to start the next one for tomorrow. No pressure or anything…lol

  2. I found your blog through Tayari’s Facebook page. I’m doing 30 posts in 30 days too for the #WRITELIKECRAZY challenge. Hooray for us! Now, let me go write my post for today. LOL

    • Hi Javacia!! So I love your blog name!! Thanks for connecting with me and stopping by. This is exciting right? It’s a serious challenge but I am up for it!! I am looking forward to what happens this month. I feel like things are going to change (like me and my writing) and I’ll learn so much! Meet new people!! So this is going to be great!

Thoughts?

