Come See About Me

I was sitting here thinking about one-way love.  Concern and attention and interest that mostly flows one way.

You know what I’m talking about – that there’s one person in the relationship, situation, etc that does most of the calling, texting, asking out, arranging, planning.  The fact that you are more interested in what they’re doing than them being interested in what you’re doing?

I tend not to mind doing these things, but at some point I recognize when the scales tip.  I am often interested in others.  However, when we can sit for hours on a date and all I hear about is them, and they have no idea (mush less interest) about anything that’s going on with me, then I have to call time.  And I clock out of the game.

I WILL  pull back to see if the other person looks for me or calls me.  Is this passive/aggressive?  Maybe.  But I’m ok with it.

Other times, if and when I pull back and nothing happens, as in crickets and whatnot, no calls, no texts then I consider that the time for the relationship may have expired.  I might even give a quick text or phone call.  When they answer and it’s the sorry I’ve been so busy, you know my folks were in town, you know how this job I have has been, you know I had my kids for the last few weeks…

Yeah.

No.

But isn’t it amazing when you pull away and the other person is reaching out for you?

A real-time – girl where are you going, where have you been sort of snatch back?

Where they come see about you, they come and check on you, they’re checking for you?

Love,

Rae

4 thoughts on “Come See About Me

  1. this has been my life for the past 8 months.
    ive learned that if im not the one doing the chasing/calling/planning….its not going to happen.
    sad.

    • It is sad. It’s one of those things that you cannot force. It also takes time to realize. Suddenly you’re like wayment??? I’m doing all the calling, planning, etc? No. Then if I pull back or stop calling it resorts in said party either acting up or acting out rather than just getting the hint. Passive-aggressive? Yes. But it is what it is. I know now if you’re interested you’ll call/plan/arrange. If you don’t have enough time to do those things, then well, it’s a non-starter.

    • Yes right?!!! Thank you Ameejan! It’s so fulfilling when the right one does. It makes all the rest of it seem like I was worried for no reason & about the wrong things.

Thoughts?

