65 Blogs Posts, 10,003 hits, 15 Months and the Black Weblog Awards Semi-Finals

Last year, on my birthday, I published my first post.  I may have had a few readers – all who are close friends of mine who I forced to read the blog.  Friends who I put through the ringer on trying to decide what it should look like and what I should blog about.  I even put them through it with the name of the blog.

In my infamous red notebook I have over 50 possibilities for the name of the blog.  After conferring with a good friend, it made sense to name it “From Rae With Love.”  I think I may have thought about changing it during the first few months, but as it turns out it has been the best fit for the blog and what I stand for.

Over the months, I’ve had the opportunity to meet people who if I’d never put myself out here with this little blog, I wouldn’t have had an opportunity to meet.  And maybe I should have written this post on the Blogiversary, but I was going through some things and I couldn’t get it together to write anything.

I have to tell you as a writer, especially if you’re a blogging writer, many of us struggle with what to say, what not to say, what to disclose and what not to disclose, how much to share.  There’s a lot to be considered and mulled over before writing and for sure before hitting the publish button.  Mostly because I don’t want to hurt anyone.  Hence my blog post on my Statute of Limitations.

But what’s really happened after all of this time is healing, expansion, a richer life, testing of my level of bravery, testing my willingness to be transparent.  I have not lost yet with this process.  It’s been blessing me and it continues to bless me.

With that said, I have to thank all of you who read, who follow me on twitter (@fromraewithlove) and for everyone who has continued to encourage me and lift me up throughout this process as well as throughout various areas in my life. The blog really has done what it’s done because of you.  Because of your comments, your support, your sharing, your connection with me and because you continue to support my writing.

And this is where I shall shamelessly plug that I have been nominated for a Black Weblog Award in two categories – Best Writing in a Blog and Best Personal Blog.  I’ve made it to the semi-finals.  If From Rae With Love is voted on to one of the top three in the categories, then mama moves to the finals.  So, I ask that you’ll take a chance to vote for the blog here: http://www.blackweblogawards.com/vote-here/ .   Voting for the semi-finals runs through October 1, 2012 so these are exciting times!

I’m thinking in the next few weeks, I’ll get all cute and do a vlog for y’all.  I can’t wait for it!

I have to encourage that if you’re sitting on your dreams, go get them out and dust them off.  Seriously.  Maybe it’s not time to launch, but one day it will be time and I want you to be ready.  I thought about this blog for years before I ever shared anything with anyone.  Mostly because I didn’t think I was ready.  I was afraid I’d write something crazy, say something crazy, embarass my folks.  It turned out that I’m glad I waited.  Everyone has a different time line.  All I’m saying is pull your dreams out of the closet and get ready to live and make them happen.

So again, thank you for everything and thank you for sticking with me through all of it.  In the coming months I have some great blog posts planned and hope you’ll continue to take this journey with me.

Love,

Rae

 

 

16 thoughts on “65 Blogs Posts, 10,003 hits, 15 Months and the Black Weblog Awards Semi-Finals

  1. Pingback: Why comment on a blog post? « Deb's Answers

  2. No problem Rae. I support all bloggers (who actually have something to say) and I love reading posts from other bloggers in my niche.

    And I definitely feel you on holding back some posts. I have about 20 articles that I have yet to share, so i know all about it.

    But great talking to you, and wish you much success!

    ….Oh and congrats on the Black Web Blog Nomination as well!

    • Thank you so much Maurice! You have a great blog. I peeked over there today. I need to sit and read more. But yes, I won’t even start to tell you how many posts I have waiting to be published. It’s crazy!!!

      I probably have waaaaaaay too much to say. But I guess that’s why I’m a writer.

  3. Congratulations Rae, 15 months and counting huh! But yes, I definitely agree with you on the “what to say, what not say part”, all newbie bloggers go through this. It’s all about finding your voice, or as I tell my readers – you have to wake up to your true identity!

    But I see you have found yours! it’s amazing how blogging opens up so many doors ain’t it. Keep doing what you doing, and go get your blessing lol.

    • Hi Maurice!!! Thank you so much! Looka here – this voice and deciding what to say and what not to say? It’s an art form. I have had to sit on many a post or just not write something. Or have to sit there and wait for a few months before I hit publish. I have many I won’t publish this year. They’ll have to wait.

      Re: doors – it has been absolutely amazing!!! All of the amazing people I’m meeting and things I’ve been able to do lately. I’m thankful!! Thank you again for your comment and stopping though!

    • Thank you so much honey! I adore you. And I appreciate your support and watching your journey as well. I can’t wait to read about your time at Blogalicious!

  4. Congrats! As a fellow nominee, I wanted to go through the list of nominees and check out all the blogs before I submitted my votes. I have to say that I am very impressed and love the blog. I am not even 4 months into this and it is hard to figure out what to say and for me, really how much to disclose. Anyway, I just came by to check you out and let you know that I love what you are doing. Take care and good luck! http://www.thesexysinglemommy.com

Thoughts?

